British Monarchs | British Prime Ministers | US Presidents | USSR Secretaries | EU | UN | NATO | EFTA | Commonwealth

EFTA was formed in 1959 to encourage free trade between member states. Members are those countries who did not want to join the EC as it was felt that this would result in a loss of sovereignty.

There have been no import duties between member states since 1966 and with the EC since 1977. The headquarters of EFTA is in Geneva. In 1992 a proposal to forge greater links with the EC was rejected.


Austria, Finland, Iceland, Sweden  Switzerland.

print Print this page